Stations of the Cross

We will be journeying with Jesus on his way to the cross. We will be using the devotional practice called The Stations of the Cross. The stations are based on the Via Dolorosa in Jerusalem which is believed to be the actual path Jesus walked to Golgotha. For over 500 years, Catholic and Protestant Christians have been using the Stations to make a spiritual pilgrimage through contemplation on the Passion of Christ.

Start the audio file, then scroll through images as the worship progresses.


Station 1: Jesus is condemned to death

Station 2: Jesus takes up the cross


Station 3: Jesus falls

Station 4: Jesus meets his mother

Station 5: Simon is forced to help Jesus carry the cross

Station 6: A woman wipes the face of Jesus

Station 7: Jesus falls again

Station 8: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

Station 9: Jesus falls a third time

Station 10: Jesus is stripped of his clothes

Station 11: Jesus is nailed to the cross

Station 12: Jesus dies on the cross

Station 13: Jesus is taken down from the cross

Station 14: Jesus is laid in the tomb



Liturgy: Ruth Burgess and Chris Polhill, Eggs and ashes: Practical & liturgical resources for Lent and Holy Week (Glasgow: Wild Goose Press, 2004) p. 166-185

Artwork:  Stations of the Cross, © 1980 John Ilg, Oil pastels on paper